- This event has passed.
“One Day” Maryland Wear and Carry Class Monday January 15, 9 AM to 7 PM
January 15 @ 9:00 am - 7:00 pm$399.99
You have the day off anyway, why not take the Maryland Wear and Carry class that you’ve been putting off? This class will cover 10 hours of the required 16 hours of training. The remaining six hours will require the student to make a reservation at a date and time convenient to both student and instructor to Hendershot’s indoor range to fire the qualification course. The range is climate controlled at a constant 72°. You won’t be standing outside in the cold! A certificate will be issued upon completion of the required 16 hours of training.
ALL AMMUNITION, TARGETS ETC., WILL BE PROVIDED BY HENDERSHOT’S SPORTING GOODS.
Feel free to bring lunch, snacks etc., into the classroom. Coffee is on site as are restrooms. Make yourself comfortable.
THIS CLASS IS FOR INITIAL/FIRST TIME APPLICANTS ONLY. RENEWAL APPLICANTS SHOULD SIGN UP FOR ANOTHER CLASS. (See our calendar for applicable dates)
This is an intensive course that exceeds the training requirements for the Maryland Wear and Carry Permit. Curriculum is 8 hrs for renewal and 16 hrs for initial applications and gives a good overview of responsibility that comes with carrying a firearm on a daily basis.
The team of instructors will guide you through the curriculum which includes, but is not limited to the following:
- The Wear and Carry application process
- Handgun safety & operation
- Cleaning and storage
- Maryland law
- Legal transport of firearms
- Use of force
- Permitted/prohibited locations
- Law enforcement interaction
- Situational Awareness
- Ammunition & Terminal ballistics
- Pistol and Holster selection
- Drawing from the holster
- Concealed vs. Open Carry
- Low Light shooting
- Shoot/Don’t shoot scenario
- “After the final shot” discussion
For attending, students will receive;
- Hendershot’s range badge and lanyard
- Holster certification (upon successful completion of the course) to allow for practice during use of the range
- Eye and ear protection
- Additional benefits and discounts at the store
Students are also required to complete a rigorous 50 round qualification. Be prepared to fire 200 rounds (supplied with the class). Students must bring their own handgun, 2 magazines, and holster. Class size is limited. Tuition is $399.99 (16hrs).
Successful completion of this course does not guarantee that students will receive their wear/carry permit from Maryland State Police. Maryland is a “may issue” state and, as such, applicants need to have a “good and substantial” reason to be approved. For more information please visit the Maryland State Police website.
If you have any questions about whether or not you may qualify, please call the Maryland State Police, Licensing Division.
This is an experiment to allow persons who wish to apply for concealed carry permits the opportunity to adjust their schedules and ours to suit their needs. All 16 hours of training will be met before a certificate will be issued.